Rickey Godfrey Playin’ da Blues at Mama Rues

Nashville’s Rickey Godfrey will be working his Telecaster at Mama Rue’s Blues Garden in Pawleys Island, S.C. on Wednesday evening,  April 13. In a performance that begins at 7:30, Rickey will play tunes from his new blues CD, Nasty Man, along with blues standards and other Rickey Godfrey originals.

Rickey said, “I’m excited to be playing at Mama Rue’s. It’s my first time there, and just from talking with Marrue on the phone, it feels right. I can’t wait!”

Marrue Bleau is the owner of the cozy café that serves up local seafood and spicy Jamaican cuisine. An indoor stage easily handles a duo or solo act, but when the weather permits, the music moves to the garden bar out back. Mama Rue’s is open Tuesday through Thursday from 11 a.m. to 10 p.m.; Friday, 11 a.m. to 12:30 a.m.; and Saturday, 11 a.m. – midnight. The intimate lowcountry spot is known for its lowdown island cooking and Chef Eric’s Jamaican specialties such as jerk pork and jerk chicken.

Mama Rue’s is located at 9737 Ocean Hwy, Pawleys Island, S.C. 29585. Telephone number is 843-235-3853.

For more information, visit Mama Rue’s Facebook page.

About rickeygodfrey

“I've been playing guitar since I was 13. Though my main axe is the guitar, my first instrument was piano, which I started playing at the age of 6. People say I'm mostly a blues and soul guitarist, but I see myself as more versatile!"
This entry was posted in Press Releases & News and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rickey Godfrey Playin’ da Blues at Mama Rues

  1. Z Z Wooten says:

    I miss you!! this is from Z Z (Kenny wooten’s widow) here in Simpsonville SC…..when will you be back sugar? Want to hear you again and my son wants to also !! kisses and hugs Z Z

Leave a Reply

