Back on WordPress

It’s been a while since I personally took a look at my blog, and force myself to learn things to help me better navigate the wordpress website! For a blind computer user like myself, it can be tedious and time consuming to search a website to find items of interest. So recently I’ve been learning new tricks about my talking scrreen reader software, JAWS, to make my ability to use the internet quicker and easier. So consequently, this is actually the first time without assistance from a sighted person that I’ve tried to post something on this site. I feel like I’m on a boat headed for treacherous waters where the wrong part of a post ends up in the wrong place, or other unforseen media dangers, Ha, Ha! Anyway, it’s exciting to give this a try.

 

In the past three years I’ve found myself gradually withdrawing from traveling out of the Nashville area. I rode a greyhound bus from Nashville to Greenville sometimes three round trips a month, each trip lasting from 8 to 12 hours, from 2005 to 2011.I rode a little less often from 2011 and some of 2012, mainly to go to Greenville, SC to play and to hang with my younger brother who had a stroke in late 2009. Towards the end I started feeling a bit robotic, not really in touch with who I was. Since getting back to Nashville several months ago I’ve had a gradual charging of my creative batteries. It’s been great to re-connect with so many of my old music friends, and hanging around my house a lot more has helped to center me, and gives my life renewed purpose. Good marriage, and a wonderful daughter in college, what do I have to complain about! Guess I just need to play more blues?

 

my music gigs for about three years 2010 up to September, 2012  were mainly in the upper Carolinas area where I actually played a lot of solo performances. My blues CD, “Nasty Man” continues to sell, generally four or five a night in most of the little clubs I was playing. In the dozen outdoor festival gigs performing with a backing band that sometimes included a horn section, I might sell 40 CDS at a time, and got to meet a lot of new blues fans.  But now, my music direction is centered back in Nashville and surrounding areas. When I play live these days it’s refreshing to learn that there are a bunch of folks out there who are still crazy about good blues music.

 

Found out a year ago I had sleep aphnea. It’s taken me over a year to get used to the masks, but now I don’t feel normal if I don’t wear one to sleep. Anyway, it’s supposed to help with sleep oxgen levels to the brain, which makes one more alert and energetic during the day. I just hope it helps me be more witty, (grin)

 

My life seems to be changing rapidly lately, especially since my blues trio, won the Nashville blues chalenbe, and myself, drummer, Jim Klingler, and bassist, Geoff Newhall are off to Memphis in a fw months.

Sure is a much more lively world than my reflections a year ago over the deaths of so many close friends in the past several years. How we miss them in moments of solitude, though we know we’ll always have the love they gave us!
Then after reflection you come back to that Shaw Shank adage, “get busy living or get busy dying.”

 

my immediate chalenges are to learn to operate and navigate more independently several music business and networking websites, but as I gradually learn more, right now I’m very excited about the new friends I’m gonna make in Memphis next week!

About rickeygodfrey

“I've been playing guitar since I was 13. Though my main axe is the guitar, my first instrument was piano, which I started playing at the age of 6. People say I'm mostly a blues and soul guitarist, but I see myself as more versatile!"
This entry was posted in Personal Thoughts and Reflections, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back on WordPress

  1. Rickey, this is your blues brother BluzNdaBlood Dave! I wanted to let you know what a real treat it was to ghat with you while you were in Memphis! Due to my judging, I never did get to see you play, but it sure was great to catch up with you and see how life has been treating you! Hey, thanks for the hyperlink to my show that ‘s on your site! Much appreciated, brother! Hope to see ya again soon!

Leave a Reply

